top of page
Buscar
  • academiaidiomas

Verb to BE in Simple Past



USES

We use to be verb to express the existence or non-existence of someone or something in the past.


We can use to be verb to express age, nationality, personality, feelings or emotions, place, relationship, quality, jobs or professions, size, shape, time, etc.


PLACE I was at home yesterday. (preposition of place)

They were here. (adverb of place)

PROFESSION You were a good doctor. (noun)

PERSONALITY My father was an affectionate man. (adjective)

QUALITY It was an intelligent decision. (adjective)

AGE She was 89 years old, when she passed away. (noun)

SIZE/SHAPE My hair was short and curly last week. (adjective)

NATIONALITY Blaise Pascal was French. (adjective)


STRUCTURE



RULES

The rules are:

Affirmative

I, he, she, it – was

You, we, they – were

She was a nurse.

They were doctors.


Interrogative

In order to ask a question, was/were needs to be at the beginning of the sentence:

Was she a nurse? Yes, she was. / No, she wasn't.

Were they doctors? Yes, they were. / No, they weren't.


Negative

In negative sentences, add the adverb not and put it before the word was/were.

Remember that most of the time the contraction (shortened form) is used in negative sentences:

wasn’t = was not

weren’t = were not.

He wasn’t at the school with us.

We weren’t at the movies on Sunday.

I wasn’t hungry.


 

Watch this video of American pop singer Beyoncé, and take note of all the sentences where you hear was/were.



*Lyrics below


“I Was Here”

I wanna leave my footprints on the sands of time

Know there was something that, meant something that I left behind

When I leave this world, I’ll leave no regrets

Leave something to remember, so they won’t forget

I was here

I lived, I loved

I was here

I did, I’ve done everything that I wanted

And it was more than I thought it would be

I will leave my mark so everyone will know

I was here

I want to say I lived each day, until I died

And know that I meant something in, somebody’s life

The hearts I have touched, will be the proof that I leave

That I made a difference, and this world will see

I was here

I lived, I loved

I was here

I did, I’ve done everything that I wanted

And it was more than I thought it would be

I will leave my mark so everyone will know

I was here

I lived, I loved

I was here

I did, I’ve done everything that I wanted

And it was more than I thought it would be

I will leave my mark so everyone will know

I was here

I just want them to know

That I gave my all, did my best

Brought someone some happiness

Left this world a little better just because

I was here

I was here

I lived, I loved

I was here

I did, I’ve done everything that I wanted

And it was more than I thought it would be

I wanna leave my mark so everyone will know

I was here

I lived (I lived), I loved

I was here

I did (I did), I’ve done

I was here

I lived (I lived), I loved (I loved)

I was here (oh)

I did, I’ve done

I was here

1599 visualizaciones0 comentarios

Entradas Recientes

Ver todo
bottom of page